Past Present Future

Dear baby brother,

I hope I can show you this letter someday.  I hope you stay in our family long enough for that to happen.  It’s 2014 and you are 18 months old.  Instead of a nice cozy home with your parents, you are living in foster care.  If you are old enough to read this, you probably already know that our mother is a drug addict.  You know she was the reason you lived in a foster home as an infant.  I remember the first time I held you.  You were 2 days old and so helpless.  You opened your big blue eyes and just stared at me.  I immediately knew you would be one of the most important people in my life.  I knew I had to use my experience to help you in any way you needed.  Again, as a result of our mother’s addiction, you had…

View original post 335 more words

