thal98

Dear Daddy,

You’ve been gone for almost 5 years now. 3 months ago today, I got married. I did it without you, and it was the most bittersweet day of my life. 2 weeks ago, I found out my husband is a drug addict. Like you, he had been abusing prescription pills. When the pills weren’t enough, he began shooting up. Unlike you, he was good at hiding it.

For 20 years and 1 day of my life, your drug problem took over. I didn’t have a childhood. I took care of you, rather than you taking care of me. I admired you in so many ways, overlooking the obvious cloud over my life that you created. When mom started dosing up with you, I found a way to blame it all on her. You got addicted by accident. She got addicted by choice. She was the bad guy. She…

View original post 389 more words

